MAKE: 3D Print Dual Hikvision Bullet DS-2CD2032-I


DIY Security Guy

While waiting for my Shapeways part to arrive, I went ahead and printed one of the DIYSG-003-B. The -B revision simply opened up the hole diameter for the camera mounting screws so that I could use a brass threaded insert.

I fired up the makerbot Replicator 2 and printed one from some blue PLA.

After a bit of cleanup and sanding the part, it felt pretty rigid.  

I then inserted some brass threaded inserts.  

Next using a soldering iron, I melted them in place.


For a quick fit check, mounted up a camera using some #8-32 socket head cap screws.


Overall the part is more than string enough to hold 2 cameras. I would want to paint it before mounting it for long term UV protection. I never painted PLA before, but I imagine the Krylon paint for plastics should work fine.

View original post

Leave a Reply

